Hard sell, or passive?

For general discussion not related to [FuN], Ascendance, or gaming.

Moderators: [AsC]Frags, [FuN] Users, Senior Moderators, Friends of [FuN]

Hard sell, or passive?

Postby Freebie » Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:07 pm

Im changing what i do for a living, and im currently planning my new venture. I've come to a place where i am disagreeing with my partner over an important part of the plan. I was wondering if anyone has any imput.......

I need to locate people using wireless networks. I can do this fine by walking around with a wireless enabled device, and once introduced i can sell my services. The problem is how to introduce myself to my potential customers.

I think it's ok to knock on the door, and to be straight to the point. To inform them that thay have a network that is 'open', and to tell them that it is likely that their files may be visable to their neighbours, or passers by. Then to offer them some services that combat this problem. Perhaps leave them with an info pack with my details all over it. 8)

My partner thinks this will come across as blackmail. I think she's wrong. :roll:

I think these people need to be aware. Im not going to promise to make them unhackable, just make it less likely that neighbours and the likes can get in.

So i guess my question is, once i've found a potential customer, should i go right ahead and knock on the door, or should i take a more passive approach?

All views appeciated - especially as my new next door neighbour gonna be my first test case :wink:
Freebie

Postby m0nk3y-bw0y » Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:31 pm

Personnaly if u did that to me i would be pissed!
To me thats beyond cheak ..u may disagree but u asked

Also i would check the legal rights of scannign networks ..im not 100% but im sure u can get done for that in the UK.
Hence why any site/server that scans u (Eg: Quakenet) all have a discalimer/agreement to allow this. <Again not 100% on this